The Solve for Tomorrow is a nationwide competition challenging New Zealand’s next generation of innovators to change the world for good, whilst sparking a passion for science, technology, engineering, arts and maths subjects (STEAM), and building design thinking skills.

Teenagers are natural innovators, constantly coming up with new ideas and fresh ways of thinking, that influence the world around them – everything from inventing new slang, to sparking conversations about important issues and developing epic new solutions to real-world problems. Adolescence is a great time for ideation, with young minds fuelled with creativity and originality, without yet being held back by limitations.

Samsung is so excited to be extending the entry age for its STEAM competition, Solve for Tomorrow this year. Entries are now open to Kiwi students in years 7–10 years 11–13.

Winning individuals or teams will share $24,000 in prize money and Samsung technology for them and their school!

Simply identify an issue your community is facing – for example it could be around sustainability and the environment, or diversity and inclusion – then unleash your creativity and demonstrate how STEAM can be applied to create an amazing new solution.

Schools (year 7–10) are encouraged to enrol students, teams, or entire classes. Each entry is challenged to identify a problem in their community and come up with a creative fix using a STEAM-based solution.

Key deadlines

  • 1 May: Entries open
  • 24 June: Project Plan submissions close
  • 15 July: Project plan feedback provided
  • 2 September: Final entry deadline
  • 24 September: Winners announced

For more information, including examples of prevoius winner, resources for teachers and entery forms go to:

In this video hear from the judges of this exciting competition and from schools that have been involved below.

MOTAT and TENZ are supporting the Samsung Solve for Tomorrow competition with a resources and free seminars designed to support both teachers and students throughout their entry journey.


  • Dr Siouxsie Wiles, Associate Professor and Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences at Auckland University
  • Dr Joel Rindelaub, Chemist
  • Julie Baker, Education Manager at Museum of Transport and Technology, (MOTAT)
  • Sarah Washbrooke, Educational resource developer for ByteEd, MoE PLD facilitator, teaching fellow at UOW and Deputy Chair for Technology Education New Zealand (TENZ)
See all events